Taking a break

Yep, I’ve decided to take a break from the game for a while, probably until Cata is out… if I do come back at all.

Basically I’ve just become bored with it. I already stopped raiding a couple of months ago and I think since then I’ve tried levelling a couple of alts, doing the same zones and quests that I’ve done many times before, and this time alone as the missus is well and truly WoW-free now. I did stick with levelling a hunter for a few weeks, taking him from 24 to the lofty heights of level 72, but although I did enjoy playing a hunter, I didn’t really enjoy the levelling grind. I got through it by just looking forward to the next zone, almost convincing myself that I did still like the game enough to stay, but as I was questing through Borean Tundra for the 6th time I decided it was time to let it go… at least until there’s something new to do!

I might actually give LOTRO another go since it’s going free-to-play on September 10th. I’ve been reading the books again so it’s looking mighty appealing to me right now.

On that note, in the (slightly edited) words of one Bilbo Baggins:

“I regret to announce that – though 16 months is far too short a time to spend among you – this is the END. I am going. I am leaving NOW. GOOD-BYE!”

/wave

7 Responses to Taking a break

  1. Andy says:

    It’s weird that you should mention LOTRO, as I was reading about it the other day and I’m about to download it :O

    And I’ve been taking a break from raiding and stuff too, having been playing my orc warrior (PROT 4 EVA!) who’s now 76. Warrior tanking is teh funnest! Dunno what I’ll do once he’s 80, mind – I’ve had it in mind to transfer him to Argent Dawn and join SAN, as I don’t really have much tying me to New Dawn any more.

  2. Kalacios says:

    I played a hobbit champion for a little bit (to level 8 or something) and found that I was actually reading the quests and following the story, I guess because I know LOTR and enjoy all the lore etc. It’s cool to see people and places that I’ve already read about in the books. And (eek!) Nazgul!! Scary!
    I just reinstalled it (after accidentally wiping the drive it was on…) and was considering starting another trial account (to try out the other classes) which I could maybe continue with when it goes F2P.

    I did wonder where you had been, hadn’t seen you on Azuremyst for a while.

    Actually I went back to my orc warrior for an hour or two before finally deciding to pack it in. I was going to level him as fury as I’ve already done prot (up to 60 on one char and 22 on another). Quite fancied dual-wielding 2-handers.

  3. Andy says:

    Tbh Fury’s not really that fun to play – basically just hitting Whirlwind and Bloodthirst on cooldown, and hitting Slam when you get a proc. Being rage-starved is a real problem until you get good gear.

  4. Kalacios says:

    Guess it’s not really something I’ll have to worry about now 🙂

    Played a bit of LOTRO today, made a “Man” lore-master, Curudur (of Gondor :p ). Feel like a total noob, it’s great!

  5. Andy says:

    Hehe, I had Grand Ideas of creating a Man captain, except “captain” suggests some kind of leadership and authority, neither of which I’d have as a total noob. So instead I think I’m gonna make a burglar 😀

    I look forward to exploring the world – that’s one of the best parts of big games like this, imo.

  6. Kalacios says:

    Yep, totally agree with you about exploring the world. I took a look at the map thinking “oh this doesn’t look that big…” then zoomed out some more! The distance between the fast west of the map all the way to the mountains on the right seems to be huuuge!

    BTW, I created my char on Evernight, so will most probably be on there in case you do play and have a char on that server, maybe we can group up at some point 😀

  7. Tiago says:

    Hey, it is i, réne! Just want to tell you that im a noob and i couldnt tell your email from real id, so i asked Suli and she told me about this blog. Please send me ur email adress, and come back to wow. Oh and since im asking, tell Shádowe to return as well. I kid i kid, We miss ya guys, hope everything is ok!

Leave a Reply

